Google+ seems to gather a lot of its inspiration from Facebook; however, most of Google+'s advertisements suggest that they are attempting to create a more professional and filtered social network.  Google+'s circles function allows a user to categorize friends, family, coworkers and other social networking members into separate groups where information, photographs and statuses can be regulated.  The circles device allows a user to limit certain circles from being able to view specific pictures or status updates.  Maybe you don't want your business connection circle to be browsing through pictures of you at the bar last Tuesday night.  Another benefit of Google+ is that you can choose whose status updates you'd like to see.  When adding a member on Google+ it will notify the person that they have been added to your circles but it will not specify which one.  To hear an overview, watch the video below.